Des Townson Memorial Regatta 2024 – RO/Regatta Report

The Des Townson Memorial Regatta 2024 was held at Regency Lake, Gulf Harbour on Saturday 16th of November.

The regatta was sailed in Electron Class radio yachts designed by well known dinghy and keelboat designer Des Townson.

Entries were received from as far away as Rarotonga and Picton with a mixture of experienced and relatively new skippers. The 28 entries were divided into 4 groups which then raced each other on a round robin basis. Each skipper sailed 12 races. Following the completion of the 2 round robins, 2 longer races in a single fleet were held with all boats in that wanted to compete (22 boats actually starting).

The wind direction was from the southwest with a wind strength of 5 - 6 knots gusting 10 – 12 knots in partly cloudy to sunny conditions.

The gusty conditions made it difficult for the boats to sail close to one another in the early stages and there was a lot of boat-on-boat contact. As the day progressed skippers generally left a bit more room between boats and the number of incidents reduced significantly.

Prize giving and a dinner was held at the Gulf Harbour Yacht Club following the completion of racing.

Congratulations to Gary Caldwell (1st), Brett May (2nd) and Greg Stenbeck (3rd).

Mike McLachlan Race Officer



Des Townson Memorial ELECTRON REGATTA 2024 - RESULTS

Date: 16 Nov 2024 Venue: GULF HARBOUR RADIO YACHT CLUB INC

Skipper	I.D.	Rou	ınd l	Robi	n 1 F	oint	ts										Roui	nd R	obin	2 P	oints	S								Final	I.D.	
		1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	#	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	#		Discards	Points		
Gary Caldwell	97	3	1			3	2			2	3			14	3	1			2	1			1	1			9	23	6	17	97	1
Brett May	N1	1	7					5	6			1	4	24	1	7					2	1			2	1	14	38	14	24	N1	2
Greg Stenbeck	3			3	2	2	3					2	5	17			2	9	4	3					1	6	25	42	15	27	3	3
Colin Caldwell	95	4	4					7	3			5	1	24	4	4					1	2			6	2	19	43	13	30	95	4
Ray Nixon	21			4	5	7	1					4	2	23			6	3	3	2					4	5	23	46	13	33	21	5
Peter Heays	88	2	2					2	10			3	8	27	2	2					8	6			3	3	24	51	18	33	88	6
Lindsay Graves	71			6	1			6	5	5	6			29			4	1			3	8	5	2			23	52	14	38	71	7
John Rountree	70	5	5			4	5			1	4			24	5	5			9	4			2	3			28	52	14	38	70	8
Tony Heays	69			1	7	1	7					14	6	36			1	12	5	5					5	4	32	68	26	42	69	9
Mike Vinning	28			5	6			1	2	6	2			22			9	7			4	3	8	6			37	59	17	42	28	10
John Anderson 197	P8			2	12			4	7	11	9			45			5	2			5	4	4	4			24	69	23	46	P8	11
Steve Parker	14	7	3			14	4			3	10			41	7	3			1	8			3	9			31	72	24	48	14	12
Kevin Hassall	F3			8	3			8	9	4	1			33			3	11			6	7	7	12			46	79	23	56	F3	13
Graham Murray	11			11	10			3	4	9	8			45			7	5			7	5	9	5			38	83	21	62	11	14
Mike Lannigan	74	6	6			6	8			8	7			41	6	6			6	10			6	7			41	82	18	64	74	15
Mark Henshaw	H1			7	8	5	6					10	7	43			11	6	10	7					8	8	50	93	21	72	H1	16
Dave McKenzie	K5			14	4	13	14					8	3	56			8	4	11	6					7	9	45	101	28	73	K5	17
Richard Burgess	E9	8	8					11	8			6	9	50	8	8					9	10			14	10	59	109	25	84	E9	18
Grant Brown	20			10	11			9	1	10	5			46			10	14			14	9	12	8			67	113	28	85	20	19
Paul Anderson	65	9	11			9	11			7	11			58	9	11			7	13			14	11			65	123	27	96	65	20
John Evans	D3	11	9			10	12			14	13			69	11	9			8	9			10	13			60	129	27	102	D3	21
Dave Jennings	M4			9	9	11	9					13	14	65			12	8	13	11					10	14	68	133	28	105	M4	22
Rob Carpenter	G6	10	10					14	11			12	13	70	10	10					11	13			12	7	63	133	27	106	G6	23
Matthew Montgomery	K2			13	14	8	13					9	12	69			14	13	12	12					9	13	73	142	28	114	K2	24
Dave Collins	K7	12	12					12	13			11	11	71	12	12					10	11			11	12	68	139	25	114	K7	25
Max Carpenter	F1			12	13			10	12	12	14			73			13	10			13	12	11	10			69	142	27	115	F1	26
David Thumath	50	13	13					13	14			7	10	70	13	13					12	14			13	11	76	146	28	118	50	27
Steve Hourigan 145	M5	14	14			12	10			13	12			75	14	14			14	14			13	14			83	158	28	130	M5	28
														0													0	0		0		