2024 DF95 South Island Championship

7-8 September 2024

Lake Pegasus

Race Officer Report

The 2024 DF95 South Island Champs was sailed using Heat Management System (HMS) with 2 fleets. For many competitors this event was their first experience of multiple fleet racing. Most sailors got the hang of HMS quickly and away they went!

The event began on Saturday with an infamous Canterbury North westerly that could best be described as 5-10, gusting 25 knots. So challenging conditions for all with a variety of rigs between A to C seen throughout the day. The boat handling skills displayed by competitors was of a high level which made for tight competitive racing.

Day 2 brought a 5-10 knot Easterly. Again the racing was competitive with several race winners throughout the day. On request from competitors after Day 1, Arron Duncan was drafted in as an on-water judge which had a positive influence of quality of racing.

Eight races were completed on both days for a total of 16 races with 3 drops.

Camaraderie and sportsmanship were strong features of the weekend.

Congratulation to Jamie White (Cromwell), Brent Cowan (Pegasus) and Laurie Hope (Nelson) for the top three places respectively. The fact no club dominated the placings shows the strength of competition throughout the South Island.

Thanks to Mark Laird, Paul Johnson and all the volunteers and supporters for helping make a memorable event for all involved!

Rick Cassels-Brown



Placing	Name	Sail #	Club	# races	Total	Discards	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15	16
1	Jamie White	420	Cromwell RYS	16	29	12	17	1	3	1	1	1	1	1	3	4	4	1	1	1	4	1	1
2	Brent Cowan	95	Pegasus RSC	16	88	32	56	1	5	10	2	4	2	2	9	1	9	9	11	11	1	6	5
3	Laurie Hope	190	Nelson RSC	16	100	42	58	2	8	3	5	12	22	6	4	2	3	8	2	6	2	7	8
4	Brett McCormack	275	Otago RSC	16	88	26	62	5	2	5	8	6	7	8	1	7	1	3	8	2	9	9	7
5	Greg Thomson	500	Cromwell RYS	16	102	38	64	2	11	7	4	5	3	3	8	6	2	2	4	7	11	13	14
5	Mike Ure	74	NMMS	16	99	35	64	3	6	9	10	16	6	7	2	3	7	7	3	5	5	4	6
7	Robert Norris	68	Pegasus RSC	16	112	38	74	8	16	12	6	7	4	10	5	8	5	5	6	9	6	2	3
8	Chris Koskela	29	Pegasus RSC	16	119	43	76	3	4	2	7	8	9	4	6	5	10	4	10	15	18	10	4
9	Rod McKenzie	219	Pegasus RSC	16	142	50	92	4	7	6	11	9	10	22	13	15	6	6	7	3	8	3	12
10	Tex Morton	78	Pegasus RSC	16	151.7	42	110	8	9	8	9	10	13	14	15	10	11	13	5	10	3	5	9
11	Dave Hill	717	Pegasus RSC	16	162	45	117	6	1	11	14	3	5	12	10	14	15	15	15	12	7	11	11
12	Mike Ballard	472	Nelson RSC	16	179	61	118	7	22	4	3	2	8	11	16	12	12	10	17	8	12	22	13
13	Ric Proko	5	Pegasus RSC	16	214	66	148	10	22	22	22	22	15	5	7	9	19	14	9	4	10	22	2
14	Pete Nicholl	125	Pegasus RSC	16	204	54	150	6	13	13	13	11	18	9	13	13	8	12	16	14	13	12	20
15	Peter O'Hanlon	109	Nelson RSC	16	218	52	166	9	10	16	13	17	14	15	14	16	18	17	14	13	14	8	10
16	Roy Goodwin	163	Cromwell RYS	16	247	63	184	4	12	22	15	14	13	16	11	19	14	19	22	17	19	15	15
17	Lindsay Smith	145	Pegasus RSC	16	252	57	195	7	17	14	19	13	13	13	18	17	20	16	18	18	16	17	16
18	Neville Adams	54	Pegasus RSC	16	266	66	200	5	18	22	18	22	16	18	17	20	17	11	13	22	15	14	18
19	Peter Tibble	439	Pegasus RSC	16	265	64	201	12	15	17	16	15	22	17	19	11	13	20	13	16	20	22	17
20	Chris Greer	59	Pegasus RSC	16	271	58	213	9	14	15	17	18	17	19	20	18	16	18	19	19	17	16	19
21	Jonny Price	690	Cromwell RYS	16	342	66	276	12	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22	22