## **2024 Wellington Regional DF Champs**

## **Race Officer Report**

Kapiti Radio Yacht Club hosted the 2024 DF Wellington Champs over the weekend of 27, 28 July at Awatea Lake in Paraparaumu. Conditions on both days gave great sailing with a 5-10 knots breeze from a (mostly) northerly quarter, occasionally backing to a more westerly direction. Overhead was overcast, but clear except for a brief shower passing through on Sunday morning.

Awatea is set up with permanent marks catering to prevailing northerly and westerly wind directions and these were utilised both days. As conditions changed, racing could be quickly got underway with a course change to an alternate set of marks. Both days quickly got into a rhythm with ample time for tuning and a generous break for lunch.

Saturday's DF65 fleet comprised 16 boats. Regatta experience varied with a number of skippers stepping beyond club racing for the first time. Racing at the sharp end of the fleet was tight, with all the race wins shared between three boats. At the lunch break, only one point separated the top two skippers. By the end of the day, after 16 races, Mike Calkoen had established a very comfortable lead to take away the gold medal.

Sunday's DF95 fleet was a little smaller with 9 skippers braving early showers as the racing kicked off at 10.00am. The rain quickly headed off to the south and although threatening to return, it held off while we got in another day of 16 races. This was a more even fleet and podium places were shared around a little more than had been the case on Saturday. Having established a buffer between himself and second place at the lunch break, Mike Calkoen was able to protect his position at the front of the fleet during the afternoon to take away his second gold medal for the weekend.

Well done to all skippers for an enjoyable weekend of competition. All infringements were promptly resolved on the water and racing was conducted in really good spirits. A fair bit of friendly banter got tossed around – a good amount in the RO's direction.

Congratulations to all our winners:

## 2024 DF65 Wellington Champs

- First (NZRYA Gold Medal, Wellington DF65 Champion Trophy) Mike Calkoen
- Second (NZRYA Silver Medal) Alan Dunn
- Third (NZRYA Bronze Medal) Neville Beavis
- Most Improved (Bunta Trophy) Neil Gibbons

## 2024 DF95 Wellington Champs

- First (NZRYA Gold Medal, Wellington DF95 Champion Trophy) Mike Calkoen
- Second (NZRYA Silver Medal) Alan Dunn
- Third (NZRYA Bronze Medal) Graeme Perry

Graeme Perry Race Officer



DF65 Winners



**DF95 Winners**